B.C. Beer Blog

The who, what, where, when, why, and how of B.C. craft beer

Unibroue Rare Beer Methuselah Contest

with 29 comments

6litre GRANDE RESERVE_CANI remember when I was beer shopping in Sint-Niklaas, Belgium, and came across a Jeroboam (3L) of Chimay Bleu. The enormous bottle made an immediate impression. I imagined cellaring it for years, then opening it on a special occasion to share the Trappist elixir with good friends. Needless to say, bringing it back to Vancouver in my luggage was not an option and I didn’t have time to find out what shipping it would cost. The opportunity slipped from my grasp.

Now, beginning on November 19, there’s an opportunity in the Lower Mainland for you to acquire an even larger rarity. Chambly, Quebec, brewery, Unibroue, will be selling exclusive 6-litre bottles of La Fin du Monde and 17 Grande Réserve through the 39th & Cambie Signature BC Liquor Store. At $149 each for La Fin du Monde and $199 for the 17 Grande Réserve, these will be the largest and most expensive bottles of beer ever sold in Canada. Only 50 bottles are available.

For an opportunity to sample these Unibroue beers and purchase the limited edition Methuselah bottles, the 39th & Cambie Signature BC Liquor Store is hosting an exclusive tasting event with certified beer sommelier, Sylvain Bouchard, on November 19 from 3:00 – 4:00pm. This is a ticketed event. Tickets are only available for purchase at the store. The Unibroue food truck will also be on-site, offering food cooked with Unibroue beer from 3:00 – 7:00pm.

If you are unable to attend the event or purchase the beer, I’m pleased to be able to offer Metro Vancouver residents the chance to win a Methuselah of Unibroue 17 Grande Réserve. To enter and qualify, simply tell me in the comments below what you would do with this very special beer if you won it; be sure to include your city of residence. I will judge the entries to determine the best answer based on thoughtfulness and originality. Take your time. You have until Saint Nicholas Day – December 6 – to comment. I will announce the winner at 1:00pm that day.

Unibroue 17 Grande was first brewed in 2007 to celebrate the brewery’s 17th anniversary. Released only once a year with each bottle bearing the vintage and unique serial number, Unibroue 17 Grande Réserve has won three consecutive international platinum medals. Réserve’s complex flavour bouquet of roasted malt, hops, aromatic spice notes
and vanilla undertones pairs best with spicy pork loin, braised beef and roasted game. It also pairs well with desserts, including dark chocolate truffles, gingerbread cake, and crème brulée.

Update: Until December 5, 2015, these bottles were the most-expensive beer sold in Canada. That record now goes to Vancouver’s Storm Brewing for their 25% ABV Glacial Mammoth Extinction which was sold in limited edition, hand-blown bottles with a handmade pendant for $1,000 each.

Winner: Congratulations to Dave Smith of Surrey, BC, for winning a Methuselah of the largest, second-most expensive beer in Canada! Not only did he consider the deeper significance of this beer, but he was the only one to also answer in both official languages. Bravo! Attache ta tuque!

Written by BCbrews

November 17, 2015 at 2:16 pm

29 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. If I won one of these amazing bottles I would be sure to cellar it for a very special occasion. That special occasion would most likely be a gathering of local beer bloggers where we would share in the bottle and all write about the experience sharing the unique and massive bottle. The special occasion would be sure to be noticed all over the Province at minimum as there would be many bloggers sharing their opinions on this once in a lifetime bottle of beer! I am always about sharing good experiences with my local beer scene. Vancouver (where I reside) would be the it place!

    mikescraftbeer

    November 17, 2015 at 2:28 pm

  2. Not sure if you consider PR part of Metro Vancouver… lol… but… I would have to invite you, and a couple of friends, for dinner so you could share and talk to me/us all about why I/we should like it (you know I am not much of a beer drinker/lover). I hope you will not let another treasure slip through your hands… life is short… buy the good beer!

    Maria (Carlson) Belrose

    November 17, 2015 at 2:30 pm

  3. I would save it for my mother’s birthday in December. This year she got her master’s degree at the age of 52 in romantic studies – something that was a lifelong passion of hers but she put on hold to raise a family. It was incredible and inspiring to watch her; I get a bit too emotional when I think of her love and strength!

    Ari

    November 17, 2015 at 5:06 pm

  4. I’m not sure you’d consider this seeing as I currently live in Dease Lake, BC for work… But just in case, I’ll tell you how I’d like to share & savour these brews.
    While brewing for the Nelson Brewing Company, where I learned the trade and truly fell in love with beer, I also truly fell in love! I met my soulmate during those years, and one of our most cherished memories is sharing La Fin Du Monde at Halcyon Hotsprings one wintery weekend 3yrs ago. It will always be a special occasion beer for us. If I were to win a bottle, I would cellar it until the day he asks me to get married ! Unless of course, I can’t wait that long and have to ask him first 😉 ✌🏼️

    Tessa

    November 17, 2015 at 6:16 pm

  5. I’ll take it and a few friends over to Foamers’ Folly in Pitt Meadows to celebrate their grand opening, once it comes.

    Brian

    November 18, 2015 at 7:08 am

  6. If I were to win one of these illustrious, divine vessels of Grande Réserve 17, it would call for the most special of celebrations.

    It would require its family be present. A full vintage vertical from 2007 through 2014 would be in attendance for such a special occasion. On top of that, a full 2 years of additional, temperature controlled cellaring would commence until it’s future friends, 2016 and 2017, could be there for a full 10 year extravaganza.

    Naturally such a bottle deserves more than a mere ‘pop’. Only sabring will do for this Imperial bottle.

    As the flavours of dates, vanilla, clove, caramel, wood, almond, and overripe banana are compared and contrasted over the various eras of unibroue’s life, thoughts of Canada’s rich and yet young history of craft beer will flow through minds like wort through a mashtun. Cheeses, meats, and fruit will be generously paired with every vintage to help accentuate the fresh and developing flavours.

    After such an event, much sleep will be needed, and the dreams will be good.

    Matt

    November 19, 2015 at 6:25 pm

  7. Hello BC Brews!

    If I won this amazing giant, the incredible Methuselah of Unibroue 17 Grand Réserve, I would bring it to my yearly celebration of dark beers. A Christmas party with 50 fellow beer lovers.

    What a perfect vessel to share. French acid jazz music would play in the background. For this party of darkness we have already acquired a 1.5L Magnum and a 3L Jeroboam. 6L would complete the magnificent liquid trio.

    Such beasts require an introduction, the 1.5L bottle will be ceremoniously sabered with only the finest of kitchen sword. The most pristine GIFs will be produced. But no, no no no no no, the 6L Unibroue Methuselah will not be sabered. This beauty requires extra love.

    This cavernous beer holder shall be donated to a local brewery known for producing distinguished ales, to be conditioned with a new liquid for release at a local special event.

    Santé!

    -Jonny
    Surrey BC

    Jonny

    November 21, 2015 at 5:50 pm

  8. If I were to win one of these i’d share this at Black Christmas – I don’t think there’s any better way to celebrate this beer then with 20+ of my closest friends. Sharing in Vancouver, and living in Surrey.

    Mike

    November 21, 2015 at 6:38 pm

  9. Simple. Sabre this fucker with a samurai sword from my collection (I have several) and pour it straight from the razor-sharp neck into my face hole. The way I see it, having the broken glass on the bottle’s neck that close to my face adds an element of danger you are unlikely to find from any other one of these pussy ass entries. I’ve begun some weight-training to ensure that I’ll be able to hold the bottle above my head for an extended period of time (mostly curls, fly weights, and bench presses… up to about 140 now) so you don’t need to worry about liability or me suing you if I cut my face off.

    Thanks for the chance,
    Kevin in Vancouver

    lilfuckinkev

    November 21, 2015 at 7:25 pm

  10. Two words: beer jacuzzi.

    Dave S.

    November 21, 2015 at 7:59 pm

  11. If I win that beer, I’d save it for a weekend. Dome a bottle like that on a Monday and you’d probably wish you’d stuck to a d-mag or even just a magnum when your alarm goes off on Tuesday. Maybe Saturday’d be best, since it’s got a bible-type name so if you didn’t quite finish it you could do a toast to this Mephistopheles guy or whatever and amen while getting your Sunday hair of the dog on. I’d have to walk it through the Kingsgate Mall to show it off to my buds at the Keno stand before opening it up.

    So yeah I’d enjoy it responsibly and not be doing like these other wastoids sticking it in a basement or giving it to kids or a bunch of nerds or getting my mom drunk and crying. Are you crazy? Some old lady in her fifties would keel over if she polished off a huge bottle like that. What’s with that guy who’s gonna open a bunch of other beers when you got basically a whole two four in this one bottle? That’s too much, man! Not me – this’d be a one drink night for sure, and even though I might not remember all of it, seeing that thing empty the next day will be a reminder of a very special occasion.

    K-Roc here in Vancouver.

    K-Roc

    November 21, 2015 at 8:34 pm

  12. If I won this bottle I’d share it with friends or dome it in the shower. Which may require pulleys and levers.

    lupulist

    November 22, 2015 at 8:22 am

  13. Wedding gift for a great friend and beer enthusiast.
    Vancouver.

    Chris

    November 22, 2015 at 6:20 pm

  14. I would share it with my brew crew: five fermentation friends who have followed me down the rabbit hole of home-brewing. We will share it in fancy glasses while getting teary eyed watching A Christmas Story on HD projector outside (original Black and White, NOT Dylan Mcdermott).

    All the while a brew pot happily boils away at our feet. We’ll huddle close to keep warm from the flame and pretend not to notice each other crying. The crisp December air will be filled with the aroma of Cascade and Chinook hops.

    We’ll raise our glasses and toast to the goodwill of brewers and bloggers all over the world.
    That, is my Christmas Wish.

    Cheers!
    Kevin in Burnaby

    Kevin

    November 23, 2015 at 12:07 pm

  15. I would share this with all my good friends at YVR.

    Part time Resident,
    Richmond

    Boozecamel

    November 23, 2015 at 8:16 pm

  16. Size matters

    Lynn

    November 24, 2015 at 7:15 pm

  17. I would share it with my friends at my upcoming party! In Burnaby

    shazper

    December 2, 2015 at 8:18 pm

  18. ‘Twould be a sin if only 16 entries accompanied this call to action. Action shall therefore be taken, in the form of this 17th entry, to celebrate the release of a magnum of great magnitude.

    A QUARTER CENTURY OF TRADITION

    As noted, 17 Grande was first brewed in 2007 to celebrate the brewery’s 17th anniversary. That brings us, in 2015, to the 25th anniversary of Canada’s most internationally recognized brewery. As noted by Jordan St. John in the Toronto Sun, one of Unibroue’s great characteristics is consistency, and it is worth celebrating that this Brasserie has lost none of its quality nor its romantic ability to inspire beer drinkers worldwide.

    THE OPENING DATE

    The date judged most suitable for the celebration of this bottle of 17 is:

    1/17/17

    This is without question a date of divine decree. It cannot be coincidence that the numerals in this date add up to 17:
    1 + 7 + 1 + 7 + 1 = 17

    This is the date when the bottle shall be uncorked. 17 celebrants will be present at the ceremony. 17 toasts shall be made. 17 devoted followers and writers of craft beer shall retire satisfied into the night.

    THE RUNNERS-UP

    Other considered dates included:

    12/17/2022:

    * In the Hebrew Bible, Methuselah is reported to have lived until the age of 969. This Methuselah, with a recommended cellaring life of 5 to 8 years, would be cellared for 7 years then uncorked with 17 celebrants at a ceremony on this day.

    3/17/2022:

    * The numerals in this date also add up to 17.
    3 + 1 + 7 + 2 + 0 + 2 + 2 = 17

    * March 17 is famous as the anniversary of the death of Patrick, canonized by the Catholic Church, and as is with the case of all other such saints, celebrated in the form of a feast day. A feast on this day would therefore accompany the uncorking.

    THE LOCATION

    As a collector of bottles of beer, your reporter has a special display shelf dedicated to bottles of Unibroue. That of course includes previously-opened 17 Grande Reserve. This particular magnum opus shall live on as the centrepiece of the collection.

    The collection, and this author, reside in Surrey BC.

    ——-

    Monsieur, ce sera un péché si seulement 16 entrées accompagnées cet appel à l’action. Action doit donc être pris, sous la forme de cette 17ème entrée, pour célébrer la libération d’un magnum de grande ampleur.

    UN QUART DE SIÈCLE DE TRADITION

    Comme indiqué, 17 Grande a été brassée pour la première en 2007 pour célébrer 17e anniversaire de la brasserie. Cela nous amène, en 2015, pour le 25e anniversaire de la brasserie la plus internationalement reconnu du Canada. Comme indiqué par la Jordanie St. John dans le Toronto Sun, l’une des grandes caractéristiques de Unibroue est la cohérence, et il mérite d’être célébrée que cette Brasserie n’a rien perdu de sa qualité, ni sa capacité à inspirer romantique buveurs de bière dans le monde entier.

    LA DATE D’OUVERTURE

    La date jugée la plus appropriée pour la célébration de cette bouteille de 17 est:

         17/01/17

         Cette date du décret divin. Il ne peut pas être une coïncidence que les chiffres de cette date ajouter 17:
         7 + 1 + 1 + 1 + 7 = 17

    Ceci est la date à laquelle la bouteille est débouchée. 17 célébrants seront présents à la cérémonie. 17 toasts seront effectués. 17 personnes iront satisfaits dans la nuit.

    Les finalistes

    Autres dates considérées incluaient:

    17/12/2022:

         * Dans la Bible hébraïque, Mathusalem aurait vécu jusqu’à l’âge de 969. Cette Mathusalem, avec une vie de garde recommandée de 5 à 8 ans, serait en cave pendant 7 ans puis déboucha avec 17 célébrants lors d’une cérémonie ce jour-là.

    17/03/2022:

         * Les chiffres de cette date également ajouter jusqu’à 17.
         1 + 3 + 7 + 2 + 0 + 2 + 2 = 17

         Le * 17 Mars est célèbre comme l’anniversaire de la mort de Patrick, canonisé par l’Église catholique, et comme est le cas de tous les autres tels saints, célébrée sous la forme d’un jour de fête. Une fête en ce jour serait donc accompagner le débouchage.

    L’EMPLACEMENT

    Comme un collectionneur de bouteilles de bière, votre journaliste a une durée d’affichage spéciale dédiée à bouteilles de Unibroue. Cela inclut bien entendu précédemment ouvert 17 Grande Réserve. Cet opus magnum particulière doit vivre comme la pièce maîtresse de la collection.

    La collection, et cet auteur, résident à Surrey BC.

    What's Brewing

    December 5, 2015 at 2:25 pm

  19. First of all…a beauty like this should be saved for a very special occasion!! I would surprise my husband with this incredible beer on the weekend away I’ve secretly planned to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary in February. This beer would be a perfect way to toast this significant milestone as we both are avid beer drinkers. Then because it would be impossible to share this magnificent beer with all my friends, I would post my review, ratings and pictures on untapped (beer app) for all beer lovers to enjoy!!

    Cindy Smith

    December 5, 2015 at 9:29 pm

  20. I’d save this bottle until my birthday in 2017 & organize a beer tasting at CRAFT Beer Market with my friends. After we’ve had a chance to sample various types of beers & educate our palates, we’ll go back to my place & enjoy this very special beer together!

    Surrey, BC

    Eileen

    December 6, 2015 at 11:55 am

  21. I would put into action my next social experiment of inviting 7 Facebook friends who have never been to my place, to come for a secret dinner (in that the menu would not be divulged) and discuss the place of Facebook in the real world, while enjoying a beer from Canada’s best brewery. That is what I would do.
    Phil H.

    Phil H

    December 6, 2015 at 11:57 am

  22. Unibroue is best brew!

    Karen Padilla

    December 6, 2015 at 12:01 pm

  23. I would gather the beer loving masses on the rooftop, with those sweeping views over the city, and open this alongside our jereboam of Chimay Blue. Get a selection of Quebecois, French and Belgian cheeses, and revel in the sublime simplicity of it all.

    Josh

    December 6, 2015 at 12:07 pm

  24. I’m not sure what else there is to do with it but drink it. If I happen to be in a good mood I might even left a friend or 2 watch me drink it
    Surrey BC

    Jas

    December 6, 2015 at 12:18 pm

  25. I would save it until October of 2016, then invite a select group of close friends ’round, and pop the cork to celebrate my 40th birthday.

    I’m in Vancouver.

    Pauline Walsh

    December 6, 2015 at 12:24 pm

  26. If I win this bottle, I will cook a whole hog, and lots of BBQ meats, side and the works! Pretty much have a big party at the shack! To consume this bottle of beer!

    Richmond,bc

    John lim hing

    December 6, 2015 at 12:31 pm

  27. If I won this beer I would drink it.. No admiring it ,no cuddling with it just drink it and enjoy it ..however if I was in a good mood I might invite over a few friends and have them watch me drink it..
    Bottoms up from Surrey BC

    Jas

    December 6, 2015 at 12:36 pm

  28. I’d crack that baby open on my baby’s first birthday, and share it with all the people who helped me through her first year. A big beer for a big accomplishment!

    Hilary in Burnaby

    Hilary smith

    December 6, 2015 at 12:45 pm

  29. If I won the beer, I’d start off by putting it in the cellar for a while. I’d wait until we have a couple of beer geek friends over and share the beer over some appies whilst playing cards against humanity.

    Nathaniel Senff

    December 6, 2015 at 1:37 pm


Leave a Reply

